Ah the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond . This Loch is one of the biggest water in the Uk and finding the fish is always a challenge . I started my journey from Balmaha on a dreich Monday morning . Dreich means wet , wet scottish summer and cold in the fingers . I don’t really care if it’s cold in the summer , I like a good cloud cover over my  head and I know the fish will be biting . Catching perch was first on my list , my little Lrf rod in hand I went seaking . Perch love hiding under moored boats and after a few cast I found one .

Next step was to paddle and find some new area . The loch is 42 km long and I can only paddle that far so I went through the islands . It’s a dreich day and the only way to keep warm is to paddle and paddle .

I enjoy watching the ospreys circling high over the sky and if they can catch a fish so can I . I thought like an osprey at time finding the margins and they another perch swallow my tiny wee lure .

I had enough with perch , catching a pike was now on my list to do . My line thru tench did well instantly . A few cast in the middle of the loch and I found myself battling a feisty pike , in the summer time they do fight . I unhook the creature and within second and a back flip later she was back in the water , and no photo .

Never mind , Within minutes another pike oofed the lure and again it’s a tight battle . Right on the side and another turn I lose the fish , and the lure . (do watch the video )

I then paddle back and ledger for some roach . Feeder and single maggot I hook into this silvery fish , a cracking wild O lomond roach .

Nearly time to head home now and there is always a last cast , a perch here and there and then another pike on light tackle .

As I near back in the boat yard , a salmon angler protrude his catch , Loch Lomond cannot be bad .

